IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF ANNE – STORIES OF REPUBLICAN WOMEN EX-PRISONERS !

I am in the process of reading this book compiled by the ex P.O.W.’s from Armagh Gaol and i must say it is a great read
Stories from the girls are so uplifting in how they were like a family and stuck together through thick ans thin
I know a lot of men were imprisoned also 
but the story of Madge Mc Conville is a story in itself,
Evelyn Gilroy’s is so heartbreaking it is unbelievable
Some of the older women had 4 or 5 wains left behind when lifted
Babies were also born in Armagh Gaol

This is a book that needed to be written so as the women again do not disappear into history

I suggest to all the friends if you want to read about the sacrifices of the women during the struggle 

READ THIS BOOK

ALTHOUGH I AM AWARE THAT SOME WOMEN DID NOT GIVE THEIR STORIES FOR THEIR OWN REASONS

Any that feel the need are welcome to tell it here as i know of a few myself that may not have been included for whatever reasons

POSTED ON BEHALF OF :  Magilligan Ex Pows

10 comments on “IN THE FOOTSTEPS OF ANNE – STORIES OF REPUBLICAN WOMEN EX-PRISONERS !

  1. jackie mc cool says:

    am an xpow who went into armagh in 1983 6wks pregnant , kept my baby till she was 14months i was sentenced after 2and half yrs to 10 yrs when i got out i left my mum and aunt behind as they got sentenced to life .we were inla prisoners and none of us knew about this book i no this wasnt intentionaly done but i think as three generations in armagh this should have been recorded as i believe this is the first time in irish history that 3 gen have been in jail at the same time. my name then was jackie moore my mum anna and my aunte pat . my baby is called dominique [after dominic maglinchy].

  2. nonviolentconflict says:

    Reblogged this on NonviolentConflict.

  3. […] In the Footsteps of Anne – Stories of Republican Women Ex-prisoners ! (fiannaiochta.wordpress.com) 54.645861 -6.745149 Share this:TumblrPrintPinterestStumbleUponDiggRedditEmailMoreFacebookTwitterLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. This entry was posted in UPCOMING EVENTS and tagged Arts, Barack Obama, Bundoran, Emerald Bar Bundoran, Fermanaghcavan Csm, New Orleans, Prisoner of war, United States. […]

  4. How can I get the book? Living now in Oz xx

  5. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad and
    tested to see if it can survive a twenty five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know
    this is entirely off topic but I had to
    share it with someone!

  6. I quite like reading through a post that can make people think.
    Also, many thanks for permitting me to comment!

Leave a Reply

